YEAHRS – „Spiritual Sickness“ am 1. März 2024 erschienen

„Spiritual Sickness“ erscheint heute in einer wertigen farbigen Vinylversion, welche als besondere Zugabe für jene Soundgourmets, die diese Band bereits auf dem Zettel haben und auf ebenddieses LP-Debüt warten, einen hidden track enthält, der nur auf Vinyl veröffentlich wird.

Innerhalb weniger Jahre ihres Bestehens machten sich YEAHRS bereits einen Namen in der wiedererstarkten neuen Shoegaze- und Alternative-Rock-Szene und tourten bereits mit Bands wie Nothing, Soft Kill, Swervedriver, Explosions in the Sky, Hotline TNT usw. durch UK und Europa. 

2017 in Straßbourg/France gegründet, nach kleiner Pause und dem Hinzustoßen der stilprägenden Gitarristin Oyémi Héssou ist die Band nunmehr in Berlin/Germany ansässig und weiterhin bestehend aus Morgan Oliveira (guitar/vocals), Thomas Neuwirth (bass) sowie Tom Claudon (drums). 

Ihre EP „Transfer Transformers“ Anfang 2023 bescherte ihnen besonders aus Musikerkritiker*innen-Kreisen erste Aufmerksamkeit und manifestierte bereits, in welche Richtung der neue Sound der YEAHRS nun gehen sollte – Morgan Oliveira, Frontman und einer der kreativen Köpfe hinter Band dazu: 

I would describe our sound as a mix of all our different influences. If I had to put a genre on what we do, I would say something like post-shoegaze, but we have a lot of other influences that you can hear in the music: grunge, post-punk, dream pop, indie and hardcore, for example. It’s kind of a blend of all that, something cloudy and dreamy but heavy and rough at the same time.

I couldn’t really name any artist in particular, as we generally don’t really know where we’re going when we are composing . We definitely have trademarks of our own sound now and you can hear that every time we make a new song, although we try not to close doors on our creativity by trying to sound like this or that artist.“ 

Das kommende Album „Spiritual Sickness“ wurde in nur einer Woche in den Echolux und Lala Studios in Leipzig aufgenommen. Morgan zum Aufnahmeprozess: 

„It’s the first time we get to record all together and that everybody was present during the whole thing so it felt way more participative and fun to make than our previous EP that was recorded mostly at each others home during the covid times. 

During its creation, we found ourselves immersed in a lot of content related to space exploration and the earth, universe and life’s history. This cosmic journey inevitably led to many questions that tend to linger: ‚Why something and not nothing?‘ It’s funny how exploring the vastness of the universe eventually turned into a deep dive into introspection, human consciousness, and spirituality. It’s a reflection of the realization that these unanswerable questions can indeed make you question your sanity and affect your perception of reality. „Spiritual Sickness“ tries to captures this unique sentiment In a way there is a continuity in the themes we’ve explored in our previous EP „Transfer Transform“, However, „Spiritual Sickness“ takes a more overarching and critical perspective on humanity and society, moving beyond personal emotions.
Aktuell spielt die Band eine ausgedehnte Release-Tour durch Deutschland und Frankreich:

22 PRAGUE (CZ) @ Bike Jesus
23 LEIPZIG @ Ilses Erika
24 HOF @ Triton Studios
26 METZ @ Lachaouee
27 PARIS (FR) @ Supersonic
28 LYON (FR) @ Le sonic
29 FREIBURG @ Slow club

01 KUSEL @kulturzentrum_kinett
02 STRASBOURG (FR) @ Lelocalbar

27 CHEMNITZ @ aaltra

8 HAMBURG @ hafenklang ( TBC)


much more to come ……

(c) 2017 Revolver Promotion | Kontakt | ImpressumDatenschutz